Fuck yes.

by

Adam (edit: Zach) over at seriouseats.com blogged about my magnificent General Tso’s Philly Cheesesteak today and it got me thinking about doing this shit for myself.  So behold, the General Tso’s Philly Cheesesteak.

Brains,

I’m doing this shit, quite possibly tonight. Since I’m in St. Louis and the only thing resembling (I think) a cheesesteak is at Penn Station subs. I’m going to get a sandwich there, drive across the street to my old work (China Wok) and take the culinary journey to awesome town. I have access to the wok and all common ingredients found in a chinese takeout spot.

Here’s my plan.
-Purchase regular steak sandwich w/onions and peppers, hold the cheese
-Go to China Wok
-Cook up a wok full of gen tso’s chicken (our recipe is basically hot braised chicken with broc.)
-Get 3 or 4 raw crab rangoons, remove the cheese and spread on the inside of the top half of the bun
-Place cooked gen tso’s chicken on top of the beef, peppers and onion and add the other half of the bun
-Wait about 15 minutes to debate why I am doing this
-Eat sandwich
-Collect money won from bet placed with Vietnamese owner and chef
-Brag about it here


vs.
null

-MF Grocery

add to del.icio.us Add to Blinkslist add to furl Digg it add to ma.gnolia Stumble It! add to simpy seed the vine TailRank post to facebook

10 Responses to “Fuck yes.”

  1. Adam K. Says:

    Glad to see you blogging now. Can’t wait to see what other awesome shit you come up with in the future!

  2. MF Grocery Says:

    Thanks for the shine!

  3. Midtown Lunch » Inspiring Others to (Disgusting) Greatness. Kool Aid Pickle Anybody? Says:

    […] credit for his eating (he clearly was doing this long before I wrote about him), I’m glad I inspired him to share his ridiculous creations with the […]

  4. unreal Says:

    friggin hilarious…keep it up!

  5. avisualperson Says:

    ok, I’ve done:

    half fish sandwich on the left, half chicken parm on the right (of a single hero)
    gyro pizza (gyro meat on pizza, obviously)
    kimchi pizza (really good; kimchi on cold pizza, throw it in oven)

    you might enjoy this in a periphery manner:
    http://www.pimpmysnack.com

  6. comic Says:

    Half the images are imageshack and nonexistant.

  7. MF Grocery Says:

    I’ll look into this tonight.

  8. JJ Says:

    OK, so if youare a General Tso’s fan, you have to have ONO Chicken (Pronounced “Oh No” and means delicious in Hawaiian.) It is a common plate lunch specialty on my former home of Oahu. It is General Tso’s squared! Mmmmmmmmmmm I miss honolulu.

  9. avisualperson Says:

    a-yo dun!

    “Mr. Sifton: Overdone meat, bad bread, liquid cheese! It’s the General Tso’s Chicken of sandwiches.”

    http://dinersjournal.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/10/29/on-the-question-of-cheese-steaks/

  10. Pizza Guy Says:

    friggin hilarious…keep it up!

Leave a Reply

