Big MacChicken

by

receipt.jpg

This was rough.

I feel the need to give everyone a little backround before I start flashing some truly amazing photos.

Last October I was brainstorming the General Tso’s Philly Cheesesteak when Cee-Pee came to me with this, “One of the greatest things my friend ever came up with was a double big mac with McChicken patties as the bread. It has yet to be achieved but its defo on the list.”

We have been going back and forth about this burger for quite a while and I’ve claimed multiple times that “I’ll make it tomorrow during my lunch break”.    The next day would come around and I’d either left my camera at home or completely forgotten about it.

Today was the exception.  Cee-Pee and I spoke yesterday when I vowed to create this Atkins-friendly masterpiece.  Consider it achieved, except for the double part.

Behold the Big MacChicken:

unassembled.jpg

assembled1.jpg

assembled2.jpg

The whole time I was assembling the burger I kept reminding myself of the calories and fat content but it had to be done, for science of course.  After ordering 3 McChickens and a Big Mac I found a quiet corner of the restaurant and sat down and began dissecting the sandwiches.  The McChickens came apart easily and I stacked the buns to the side.  I kept some of the mayo on the patties as I knew that some sauce would be lost on the bun of the Big Mac.  Each bun was removed and immediately replaced with a chicken patty while trying to keep as much of the secret sauce, lettuce, onion and pickle intact on the burger patty.  The sandwich ended up being much taller than the Big Mac and was heavy for it’s size.  After looking around the restaurant to see if anyone was watching I dove in.

bite1.jpg

With the first bite I found myself going through a crunchy/juicy layer after layer and the texture was to die for.  Everything just worked.  Clouds split as a bright ray of sunshine beamed down to my table.  The elderly couple a few tables over started playing a harp as a unicorn walked by during my second bite.  I was in heaven for a few seconds then the guilt hit me.   Was I really doing this?  4 sandwiches at once?  I had to stop.  There was no way I could finish this monster.

bite2a.jpg

Fast forward 35 minutes and I’m presently at my work desk and miserable.  Thoughts of running to the restroom to vomit are racing through my head.  I have a conference call in 20 minutes and I don’t know if I can make it.   Fuck.  Is it really my stomach that is aching or am I psychologically telling myself to vomit.  All I know is that my mind is telling me that the sandwich was absolutely delicious but my body is rejecting it.

add to del.icio.us Add to Blinkslist add to furl Digg it add to ma.gnolia Stumble It! add to simpy seed the vine TailRank post to facebook

98 Responses to “Big MacChicken”

  1. MF Grocery Says:

    The few bites of this sandwich got me all fucked up. I need to take a few days off to figure some shit out.

    Peace.

  2. CeePee Says:

    Dude, its ok to experiment.
    Also, its gods work.

  3. JT Says:

    You just condensed 30 minutes of “Supersize Me” research into about 8. Morgan Spurlock is soft.

  4. todd Says:

    wait. the man who brought us the PORK HOUSE quits after this?

    admittedly this is ridiculous foul. I hope you feel better man.

  5. MF Grocery Says:

    For the record I didn’t create the pork house. Thanks for your thoughts.

  6. SergDun Says:

    that’s a lot of shitty meet

  7. theeecasualmale Says:

    “and the texture was to die for”

    Eating this shit pile would have been one of the absolutely lamest ways to die. Plaese to detoxing for a few days homie.

  8. Adrian. The Esoteric Says:

    wow!!
    i need to try that

  9. lisaheidrich Says:

    did the sandwich taste good?
    how many carbs are in a monster like that?
    I never knew breaded chicken was allowed on Adkins….
    always something new to learn and try!
    Thanks for the pictures and the story…
    Good Luck on your diet!
    ~Lisa
    http://lisaheidrich.wordpress.com

  10. nwlimited Says:

    Ewww just looking at it makes me feel nauseous. You’re a better man than I am, gunga din.

  11. MF Grocery Says:

    I suppose it wasn’t atkins-friendly, good catch.

    It tasted delicious.

  12. Thank you. I love you. Says:

    The sandwich appears to be talking in the 2nd to last pic. It’s not saying anything nice.

  13. Richard Barton Says:

    OH MY GOD!

  14. Richard Barton Says:

    OH MY GOSH! I was not allowed to publish my first comment, but you get the idea.

  15. pandemonic Says:

    I could feel my arteries clogging while I read this. You’re one brave dude.

  16. Steph Says:

    According to McDonald’s nutrition facts on their website, that was 980 calories, 69 grams of fat, 19 saturated, 41 grams of carbohydrates, and 49 grams of protein!

    In other words: STILL better than a Hardee’s burger!

  17. ZombieFrog Says:

    MCSTUPID!

  18. M Goff Says:

    um…..
    i think its missing the key ingredient that would have aided your body in accepting such a meat-a-licious delicacy…

    BACON.

    Cheers.

  19. Pete Says:

    You complete prat!

  20. Kyle Says:

    Personally if I was doing that I’d use stuntbeef, I’d cook up some real beef patties. I can handle their chicken but not the beef…

  21. M Says:

    McChicken’s best when you take out all the veg, have two pieces of chicken and the mayo between them, fresh buns (no matter how you say that it’s still going to sound dirty). Mmmm…makes me want to go have one now.

  22. Basshole Says:

    Add some bacon next time and call it teh “barnyard reunion”

  23. raincoaster Says:

    Okay, great. Now I’m hungry.

  24. Warrior Jodie Says:

    Thats about the NASTIEST thing I have EVER seen!

  25. Moe Hong Says:

    You just took 5 yrs off your life, but you did it for Science so I salute you

  26. treadmarkz Says:

    …and I thought I was a crazy SOB for putting the hashbrown inside the Sausage and Egg McMuffin sandwich. I stand corrected. Nice work, my friend.

  27. flutter Says:

    Sweet, holy mother.

    No, seriously, get on your knees and pray..

  28. Mally Jonez Says:

    damn, what the hell r u doing?!?!? McRuns, LMAO!!

  29. lilydustbin Says:

    respect.

  30. oh sh*t Says:

    “The elderly couple a few tables over started playing a harp as a unicorn walked by during my second bite”

    that is one of the funniest quotes of all time. A unicorn? you are wild. Next you should show us “the Luther” the hamburger sandwiched between two krispy kreme donuts. go for it.

  31. MF Grocery Says:

    @ oh sh*t:
    I made a Luther burger this weekend. It’ll be up on here soon.

  32. Blame Mame Says:

    Uch! This is truly disgusting! I hope you died!

  33. MF Grocery Says:

    FANTASTIC!

  34. Skwerley Says:

    how about an off the McChaney(patent pending)

    double cheeseburger
    spicy chicken/mcchicken depending on where you live
    insert patty in double.
    ???
    profit!

    ok, no profit. but for as simple as it is, its a DAMN good sandwich.

  35. Aussie Yeti Says:

    I will be trying this tomorrow (05 March 08) at my nearest Maccas. I don’t have a digital camera, so I’ll have to see if someone at work does.

  36. Aussie Yeti Says:

    I apologise for the double post, but make that Thursday 06 March. I don’t have the cash for it until payday 😉

  37. doubtingDAVE Says:

    Breaded chicken is not Atkins friending…when doubt the answer is ALWAYS bacon!

  38. GL Says:

    Am I reading that receipt correctly? 3 McChix for 3 dollars?

  39. gabriel Says:

    “The few bites of this sandwich got me all fucked up. I need to take a few days off to figure some shit out.”

    funniest thing ive read in weeks, for sure.

  40. Fries w dat Says:

    Dude, why no fries on that receipt? Or a supersized cola to wash it down. No wonder you’re sick, since you didn’t eat a BALANCED meal.

  41. MF Grocery Says:

    ^ Hilarious!
    Maybe I should’ve had a shake and an warm apple pie too just to round out the whole experience.

  42. MF Grocery Says:

    Kyle’s Stunt beef comment for the win! And yes, McChickens are $1 each in St. Louis.

  43. bustoff Says:

    Thanks for taking one for the team! If you substitute grilled chicken for the breaded, and added bacon, you’d have an Adkins Mardi Gras sandwich!

  44. Corey the Courier Says:

    Thanks for the tip. McD’s has gone all candy ass with smaller portions since Super-sized came out. I’ll be taking that other dude’s advice and smuggle some bacon in to enact the “Barnyard Reunion”..

  45. mildweed Says:

    I personally do the Double McChicken Cheeseburger.
    (2) $0.99 sandwiches in one.
    The best part is the employees will usually assemble this for me:
    One bun, all the toppings, and the chicken patty between the two beef patties.

    Mmm!

  46. Dani Says:

    You just made my day! Best laugh I’ve had all week!

  47. Rikimaru Says:

    Me and my friend did this… truly truly delicious… though luckily for us… we felt no side effects. In fact, and hour or so afterwards we had some pizza, but that’s the thing about McDonald’s… you never remain full.

  48. Kajus Says:

    A truly glorious burger! Up in Canada, the bill came to $15.88. why is everything so cheap in the states?!?!

  49. MF Grocery Says:

    You guys really tried it? Hilarious.

  50. Kajus Says:

    serious man, made for the highlight of the evening! im going through the rest of your collection to see what else you have here. The previously mentioned Philly Cheesesteak + Wok looks amazing!

  51. Huge Fat Ass Says:

    Yeah…..Um…..I just ate the Big MacChicken and I am going back for more, if you can not eat this whole delicious sandwich you should not consider yourself a man. That is all.

  52. dan Says:

    how has marijuana not been mentioned yet

  53. Angie O'Plasty Says:

    Sandwiches like this make Jesus cry.

  54. Irish Mike Says:

    I find it hard to believe you couldn’t work the McRibs in there somewhere.

  55. Magmatic Effluvia Says:

    Holy Duodenal Cyst, Batman.

  56. Steve Says:

    I’m totally doing this tomorrow. I’ll take pictures and make a blog post about it, referring you. Thanks, homie. *Chest bump*

  57. Eva Vs. Eva | The Wi11is Says:

    […] Big MacChicken the name explains itself this is the opposite of a Ghetto Big Mac. Grocery Eats […]

  58. ALW Says:

    What a FATASS…and around the corner from a serious heart attack!

  59. Hungrymofo Says:

    This is a video of me eating this wonderful combination of fast food. http://youtube.com/watch?v=t6aH2tp8phw

  60. hah-saun Says:

    i successfully finished a big macchicken a week and a half ago.

    that shit is not a game.

    but it did work.

    i finished it in about 9 minutes. with witnesses.

    i thought it might be a good idea to eat the sandwich somewhere public (i.e. the front counter at a local video store that my friend works at) but i think i ended up offending some girl by stacking all of her favorite childhood memories of mcdonalds into one sandwich. she made one comment and then almost tripped herself speedwalking out of the store after i took my third bite.

    oh yeah, thank you again for the inspiration.
    at some point i am going to attempt the taco bell version. maybe i should get some taco tape first.

  61. Jay Says:

    If you liked that, you’re going to love french-fry coated bacon – http://www.lastappetite.com/french-fry-coated-bacon-on-a-stick/

  62. Timmy Says:

    I’m pissed cuz Utah McD’s don’t carry McChicken! Only the crapfest that is Spicy McChicken. Ewwz and Ewwz!
    http://marinifamily.wordpress.com

  63. » The Big MacChicken On the Line: Chef David Gilbert’s search for an intern and other culinary items of interest Says:

    […] The Big MacChicken Posted on April 25th, 2008 | Permalink by Nina in Food Blogs, Food and Wine, Recipes Photos courtesy of Grocery Eats […]

  64. Floflo Says:

    You’ve earned my deepest respect for eating this monster. I once tried that too… well, not myself, I had a guinea pig. He didn’t really finish my creation, although it wasn’t even as big: http://mmisc.de/~flomo/burger/

    Ours was very unstable because of its height. How did you solve this problem so you could eat it without your burger falling apart? I put one of those sticks for shish kebab in it. Not elegant, but it did the job.

    Eitherway, my deepest respect for your glorious scientific achievement!

    PS: But a few months before we had quite a large sandwich: http://mmisc.de/~flomo/burger/sammich.jpg (about 5.5 feet… which is 1.7 meters, mon dieu!)

  65. Big McChicken - Tweak3D.Net Says:

    […] Big MacChicken Grocery Eats […]

  66. Eric Says:

    If you go for a round two of this add a layer of fries between the top and bottom bread patty (lay them out in rows carefully), two bacon strips in the middle, and wash the whole thing down with a large strawberry shake.

    mmm mmm mmm I’m lovin’ it!

    -e

  67. Shawn Says:

    You are my hero.

  68. Team Pwned Burger Says:

    This Burger Kills your Burger anyday… check out my photobucket for it… search up my name its evlpacman666 and check the Pwned Burger to see something that doesn’t compare to that piece of crap burger you have.

  69. SergDun Says:

    apparently someone has given you the impression that we give a fuck. Sorry doggie but you’re asking for too much effort to be put into looking at your nerd burger.

    post up a link/photo or don’t even bother with your IRC burger or whatever the fuck.

  70. MF Grocery Says:

    Nerd burger. Amazing.

  71. » Big MacChicken Down, One Mega Bacon Big MacChicken to Go On the Line: Chef David Gilbert’s search for an intern and other culinary items of interest Says:

    […] meat in 6 minutes without a single gag. There wasn’t any of the guilt or self loathing that MF Grocery clearly experienced attempting the same feat. Nor did he need to take any sick leave. Honestly, I […]

  72. Kajus Says:

    One year ago on march 8th i had one of these burgers.
    This year, i will have another.

    Thanks again for the brilliant idea, you are a great hero.

  73. Big Mac-Chicken With Cheese A McDonald’s Big Mac with… « A LIST OF MY DEMANDS Says:

    […] (submitted by MF Grocery via groceryeats) […]

  74. THIS IS WHY AMERICA IS OVER WEIGHT! - Fit-Equip-Blog Says:

    […] I recently read this amazing post, which shows a recipt, a picture of a Big Mac, three Chicken Mc Sandwiches and a empty rapper. Something like the deservces a “dofollow“ What is it? A McDonald’s Big Mac with cheese, but with fried McChicken patties instead of buns! […]

  75. I'm not worthy Says:

    Amazing. Thank you so much for doing this. I just laughed so hard I think I’ve got smoker’s cough. Hope you’ve “figured shit out” by now.
    xoxo

  76. Online na web Says:

    Adorei esta receita, está com uma cara ótima e bem calórica.
    Abraços

  77. Jeff Says:

    Jeshhhhh, enjoy every minute of life while you can, you won’t see 55.

  78. Studio B: WOD » Blog Archive Says:

    […] (submitted by MF Grocery via groceryeats) […]

  79. Jay Ell Says:

    You inspired me… Along with the 2 for $3 special on filet-o-fishes at McDeezy’s?
    Here’s a link to my lunch:

    http://idefiledyourbitch.blogspot.com/2009/03/sorry-if-this-post-looks-jacked-up-im.html

    I kept the buns, and freaked it a little differently…

  80. bri Says:

    ccccccccoooooooooooooolllllllllll mac 3x

  81. Reverend Tex B. Acon Says:

    I found your blog on Google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Bacon News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

  82. Have YOU tried the McGangbang? - SVTPerformance Says:

    […] […]

  83. Stacey Says:

    I just wanna see old people and unicorns while I eat. LUCKYYYYY.

  84. Chris Wilkerson Says:

    KFC copied you: http://www.slashfood.com/2009/08/25/kfc-double-down-chicken-sandwich-loses-the-bun/

  85. Big MacChicken « Sweet Tater | Food | Fitness | Etc. Says:

    […] Down sandwich but somehow infinitely worse, the Big MacChicken comes to us from the guys over at Grocery Eats. No, you are not mistaken. That is a Big Mac and a McChicken sandwiched between to more […]

  86. Red Robin Goes for the Gross | nyc-delivery.com Says:

    […] as Brooklyn, Delivery, Food, Manhattan, Review It’s happening, folks: Gross-out foods like the Big MacChicken and everything you ever saw in This Is Why You’re Fat (whose authors, you may have heard, […]

  87. Wolfinger Says:

    Thank you

    Ahmet K?r?at ?anak

    Please insert a URL or HTML Link

  88. moodyredhead » Blog Archive » Website Explores “Deliciously Gross” Food: thisiswhyyourefat.com Says:

    […] stuck with the tame version here. But if you need real carnage, check out the original article, complete with a picture of this monstrosity in its half-eaten form. If you […]

  89. Seidler Says:

    great post! thanks…

  90. Reef Aquarium Says:

    Ooh There are many excellent posts here on your blog.

  91. top secret recipes Says:

    increases, keep adding more and more money making programs to your site.

  92. JimJimJimJim Says:

    I ate one today. It was pretty easy. Went back for fries and a shake. Tasty.

  93. Big Mac-Chicken With Cheese | This Is Why You're Fat Says:

    […] by MF Grocery via groceryeats) This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. ← Chicken Fried Bacon […]

  94. This Is Why You're Fat Says:

    […] by MF Grocery via groceryeats) This entry was posted in Posts. Bookmark the permalink. ← Previous Post Next Post […]

  95. John Says:

    Picked up a few good gems from your post, will definitely help…cheers!

  96. loot Says:

    This has been a very good piece of writing

  97. 120mm fan Says:

    i always visit food blogs because i always like to do some home cooked meals :”*

  98. ビッグマックチキン「Big MacChicken」 | ネーターメイド Says:

    […] ■Big MacChicken via crocery eats […]

Leave a Reply

