The Koolickle Test – Part Deux

by

grape-koolickle-jar.jpg

I just made me some of that purple stuff.

I was planning on doing a gallon batch of these hoes but the weather is starting to turn shitty and I didn’t want to leave the house.  Luckily I had a decent-sized jar of motherfucking Shopper’s Value kosher dillz in the pantry.

So this time, learning from the last (and not awesome) Koolickle Test, I decided to do things a bit different.  Here’s the deal:

1 cup of sugar
1 packet of purple Kool-Aid
24 oz. water (I used purified because I’m ballin’ like that)
32 42 oz. jar whole kosher dill pickles

I drained all of the pickle juice from the jar and topped it off with the Kool-Aid mixture.  Now the pickles look tough as hell sitting in motor oil.  I just got done moving it to the refrigerator where I plan to let it sit for at least two weeks.  Hopefully there is enough purple to really soak into the pickles, unlike the lame red batch.

add to del.icio.us Add to Blinkslist add to furl Digg it add to ma.gnolia Stumble It! add to simpy seed the vine TailRank post to facebook

8 Responses to “The Koolickle Test – Part Deux”

  1. Hillary Thomas Says:

    Sweet hell! I was led to your site by my husband (who discovered your recent general tso’s philly steak sandwich) and I cannot stop.

    When you said you were going to fry a Tur-duc-hen, I was all, “HELL YES!”

    But this Koolickle? I think I threw up in my mouth a bit!
    And the Durian?
    Oh man, that shit is NASTY!

    Keep it coming!

  2. MF Grocery Says:

    I’m going to start another batch tomorrow but mix the Kool-Aid powder and suger in the pickle juice. Maybe that’s the secret.

  3. JT Says:

    You need to use twice the amount of kool-aide per water mix to get the super solid color. So, 2 cups sugar, 2 packets of the purp in the same amount of water/pickle mix as you would use for one packet. That’s how we rolled… then again, Sandy snuck some more sugar in there while I wasn’t lookin cause she’s all down with diabetic comas ‘n what-not 😉 Also, if you cut them length-wise it will help the color permeate the pickle much faster. We stabbed them at first which didn’t work. Once Sandy cut them lengthwise, it was only about a week or two later that the color had spread almost throughout the entire pickle.

  4. MF Grocery Says:

    If anyone else has ever successfully made these shits please drop some knowledge.

  5. Hillary Thomas Says:

    You pull the pickles from the jar, cut them in halves, make double-strength Kool-Aid, add a pound of sugar, shake and let it sit — best in the refrigerator — for about a week. The taste takes to anything.

    A pound of sugar, Shylock.
    Good luck.

  6. Sandy Says:

    dudes…seriously, i only added more sugar cuz the original article said just that…double strength kool-aid and a POUND of sugar…
    i don’t even like sweet pickles…

    AND, yes, have to cut into them to get the color to take…i’ll try the purple ones…tho I might be spitting into my napkin again…

  7. MF Grocery Says:

    I think they are saying use a pound of sugar on a one gallon batch. Also, I took a knife down the side of each pickle, barely puncturing the skin. I believe that should be enough to allow penetration (AYO!).

  8. MF Grocery Says:

    I made the other jar using the pickle juice instead of water. Sarah said “it’s not my style”. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

