Baklava and Honey Ice Cream

by

bite.jpg

My streak of delicious ice cream continues with this latest combo.

Last night I stopped by Spiro’s and placed a take-out to order for 3 pieces of their baklava. Upon arriving home and opening the takeout container I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the portions and honey pool our baklava was resting in. Sarah and I then got to work.

baklava.jpg

First we split the batch of vanilla base used on the Fig and Balsamic Vinegar Ice Cream. Once we had a separate container assigned for this batch we dissected the inner nutty portion of 2 pieces of baklava setting the phyllo layers aside.

The both the nutty and phyllo layers were coarsely chopped.

nutty.jpg

phyllo.jpg

The nutty layer was mixed into the ice cream first followed by a few gentle folds of the phyllo layer to ensure the phyllo wouldn’t separate.  Finally we drizzled in the remaining honey and set it in the freezer overnight.

bowl.jpg

This shit bangs.  We thought it needed more cinnamon so we dusted a little on top (next time we’ll be sure to add some to the base).  Now I just need to sneak into the refrigerator late tonight and eat the leftover piece of baklava without Sarah noticing.

Next up: Strawberry and Balsamic Vinegar Ice Cream.

add to del.icio.us Add to Blinkslist add to furl Digg it add to ma.gnolia Stumble It! add to simpy seed the vine TailRank post to facebook

8 Responses to “Baklava and Honey Ice Cream”

  1. theeecasualmale Says:

    You’re like the Mr. Wixard of the ice cream game. I’m not usually a huge baklava fan, but this looks delicious (pause).

  2. JT Says:

    Samples?

  3. JT Says:

    So… I’m thinkin Jalapeno and Pineapple ice cream. Or, Pineapple sorbet with Jalapeno’s in it.

    I think the sorbet would be the best route. Make it happen, Food God.

  4. demosthenes.or.locke Says:

    This looks like the fucking bomb. I might go buy an ice cream maker because of this

  5. MF Grocery Says:

    Go now. Fuck what you’re doing.

  6. CeePee Says:

    No rosewater for good measure?
    I still think just a hint might add some body (call me crazy)

  7. Mally Jonez Says:

    I agree bout the rosewater, as a matter of fact, its suppose to go in all backed goods/desserts or i guess just us island folk do it?

  8. MF Grocery Says:

    I can’t say that I’ve ever had rosewater.

    BTW- I ended up splitting the baklava with Sarah.

Leave a Reply

