Gus’s Salsiccia Pretzel Sandwich

by

ready.jpg

Ride or Die.  Don’t start whining about Philly having the best pretzels because you’re wrong and these motherfuckers from St. Louis are the heat.

Back in the day I used to have Gus’s pretzels after Cardinals baseball games or whenever me and my Pops would go to downtown St. Louis.  Homeboy would be out slanging bags of these bitches on the street every weekend.  We’d stop at an intersection and Pops would get a few sticks for the fam.

A few years back I finally made it to the factory where they were made, conveniently located right across the street from the Budweiser brewery.  I was meeting up with my dude Chilly C and STUN, a graffiti artist who was airbrushing my turntables because I’m a boss like that.  Anyway, he lived down the street from Gus’s and we decided to take a walk up there while STUN was hooking up the artwork.  It was then that I was introduced to one of the most bangingest sandwiches ever, Gus’s Salsiccia Pretzel.

bite1.jpg

I mean look at that thing.  What’s there not to love?  It’s a fucking pretzel, it’s a fucking salsiccia.  Add mustard, eat.  So simple and perfect in design it would probably be on the menu of my last meal.

8 Responses to “Gus’s Salsiccia Pretzel Sandwich”

  1. BG Says:

    Just to make sure Philly pretzels get their due, here’s my Grilled Buffalo Chicken Sandwich w/ Gorgonzola and Banana Peppers on a Grilled WaWa Pretzel. Little skillet corn with bacon to round it out. Enjoy.

  2. MF Grocery Says:

    That shit looks really good right about now. I bought a few extra twists from Gus’s to make a German burger with kraut, mustard and Muenster. I’ll have that up probably this week.

  3. Ryan B Says:

    Gus’s are some real good pretzels, right up their with the Philly joints! But dude, Philly has some banging pretzels and hogie breads. Even the WaWa pretzels are good -you would love that place -it’s like everything a 7-11 should be.

  4. MF Grocery Says:

    If they put sausages in them shits then everyone is a winner. WaWa is the best convenient store ever.

  5. newwavegabe Says:

    how is stun these days? he ok?

  6. MF Grocery Says:

    I haven’t really talked to him since he moved to Minneapolis. The incident in the alley where the two dudes jumped him nearly cost him his life. It’s a miracle dude is still alive.

  7. B'dass McUber Says:

    wow, this review was so short. huh, just like your other recent reviews. talk more, like back in your “Big Machicken days.

  8. MF Grocery Says:

    It’s pretty simple, there’s not much to it.

    I guess I’d have more to say if I made this thing, but I didn’t.

Leave a Reply

