Yes! We Have ‘Coon

by

coon.jpg

I took the photo this weekend at the Soulard Farmer’s Market when trying to spot the dude that sells beaver.  I didn’t find him but I did come across some ‘coon.

What’s fascinating is that the spot was packed full of Saturday market go’ers.  I didn’t want to wait in line and ask about their ‘coons because dudes behind the counter looked like they meant business.  Besides, I didn’t have cooler to carry that mess back to my house.  Maybe some other time if we get a good recipe from one of you readers.

Also, is it just me or do you also find the pet store reference below odd?  I’m not sure I want to buy anything from this spot.

meatshop.jpg

15 Responses to “Yes! We Have ‘Coon”

  1. Mally Jonez Says:

    curry goat is the best! If you buy some holla at me and i’ll give you a recipe 🙂

  2. Sandy Says:

    would it be wrong of me to admit that i’ve had coon before?

  3. MF Grocery Says:

    Not at all. Was it slathered in barbeque sauce?

  4. Sandy Says:

    you know it, dude…apparently that’s the only way people around here fix it…it was crock-potted in bbq sauce

  5. yukonthegreat Says:

    heres a mighty fine lookin recipe for not only coon but beaver yet again, its such a versatile recipe lmao

    http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/martin/wildrecipes/wgrbv3.php

  6. MF Grocery Says:

    That recipe is hilarious. I should’ve saved my pickle juice from the koolickles. Who knew that I could prepare barbeque sauce with it?

  7. Crandall Says:

    Soulard Farmer’s Market has got the edible pets game on lock.

  8. MF Grocery Says:

    It’s mind boggling.

  9. Dominic Says:

    Think of the pet shop outside the meat market as a kind-of live lobster tank, where you get to choose your next meal. Hint: Pick the cutest.

  10. BagOfNothing.com » Mmmmmm . . . Coon Says:

    […] Link […]

  11. Spring has sprung « Reversiblepanda’s Weblog Says:

    […] Yes, We have ‘coon! […]

  12. CeePee Says:

    I love the visit the petshop out side.
    Does that mean you can look dinner in the eye before you knock it upside the head with a hammer?
    Thats my kind of petting zoo.

  13. Wurth Says:

    great post! thanks…

  14. Nathanial Perillo Says:

    Thank you so much, I’ll have to subscribe your site and read the rest I think. The first date my wife and I had nearly 20 years ago now was a lovely seafood restaurant in Napoli, so I’ve been spending so long trying to find a decent grilled lobster recipe like we had that night – our anniversary is next month so I’m hoping to surprise her!

  15. Hound Says:

    It’s very exiting to find this groceryeats.com blog. Thank you for taking the time to discuss this, it’s a useful information and I like to discover more on this. If possible, would you mind updating your blog with more information? It is highly helpful for me.

Leave a Reply

