Deep Fried Pancakes

by

DSCN9320

I finally got my hands on some Batter Blaster. When the internet first told me about this shit I couldn’t believe it, fucking pancake batter in a bottle. This shit is fucking organic too! I copped it at Whole Foods, they keep them in the refrigeration aisle. Batter Blaster is cute cause you get to shoot it on the pan but that’s for kids. I wanted to spray this shit in my deep fryer for some real magic. These are the results.

DSCN9299

The dynamic duo

First Attempt

this is my first attempt. It failed because the batter blaster shoots out in a stream so it turns into funnel cake, not so much pancake.

DSCN9309
After these results I decided that I should pour the batter into a measuring cup and just dump the shit into the fryer. This worked out much better.
DSCN9311
Success!
So Golden, So bad

made a triple stack and poured syrup on top

some syrup on top and you're ready to have a heart attack

DSCN9323

Contemplating if it's really worth it

At this point I began to debate if it was really worth it. But then I thought of Grocery and his loss to the MacChicken. I wasn’t going to let some bitch ass pancakes take me out the game so I bossed the fuck up and manned that shit

It was
Over all the batter itself was kind of good but the problem with the pancakes was so much grease. Shit was hella oily. I was thinking maybe I should mix water into the batter so that slows the oil from penetrating the pancakes so much but I don’t know how well that would work.

Would I do this again? FUCK NO. My stomach is kind of on smash right now and I had to pound some antioxidants to help me feel better. Salad is a necessary after that shit. I basically ate a heart attack, but I’m glad I did it.

25 Responses to “Deep Fried Pancakes”

  1. auto Says:

    how bout puttin it on the pan first and then deep frying it after it cooks for a second

  2. theeecasualmale Says:

    I like how the Pillsbury Dougboys are cheering you on through that last stretch of the race.

    Nice work champ.

  3. sergdun Says:

    pan frying them first might be wise, only thing is I don’t think they would get as crunch. unless I pan fried then dipped in the batter and then polished it off in the deep fryer. That might be some shit.

  4. JT Says:

    I just caught a fried food special with Sandy the other night…. This is new territory. I applaud you. However, I want someone to try “Chicken-Fried Bacon”. It was on whatever fried food special we were watching and it looks delicious.

    Pretty much, if it is a fried meal that you need to be wired to a cardiograph machine for monitoring after…

    I want to hear about it (with pictures). Keep uppin the ante guys!

  5. demosthenes.or.locke Says:

    Bringin the fuckin pain, thats what I like to see, not some weak ass shit about chips

  6. MF Grocery Says:

    I love how I get dissed for potato chips. This rules.

    Way to go Serg! I applaud you.
    b/w
    I’m making 10 gallons of home-brewed English Brown Ale tomorrow. I’m pretty much fucking psyched about it too.

  7. El Jefe Says:

    mmmmmmm…… double fried pancakes…….. ungggggggg…….

  8. Corbin Says:

    Chicken-Fried Bacon on youtube:

    Holy balls.

  9. Mally Jonez Says:

    I just dont get it, how do u do this? Sorry dude, but a salad cant remedy this…maybe a coffee enema and a couple of laxatives. But after all the other blatant heart attacks that u snarfed down, u had the audacity to complain about the grease and call THIS a heart attack on a plate…***smh*** LMAO!!

  10. demosthenes.or.locke Says:

    Home brewed beer gets you a pass for your chip post. Keep up the good work dudes

  11. sergdun Says:

    “I just dont get it, how do u do this? Sorry dude, but a salad cant remedy this…maybe a coffee enema and a couple of laxatives. But after all the other blatant heart attacks that u snarfed down, u had the audacity to complain about the grease and call THIS a heart attack on a plate…***smh*** LMAO!!”

    well there are multiple people posting on this shit so keep in mind that not everyone is putting down MacChickens. Grocery is the one doing some of the most mainy shit, but these pancakes are definitely the greasiest thing I’ve ever eaten in my life. My deep fryer puts in that work too but usually it involves things that should be fried.

    As for my meal following this, well I didn’t eat for about 8 hours and then had a turkey, cheese and egg crepe from a street vendor accompanied by some cold glasses of Anchor Steam, corona and some pbr. Then I ate pizza at 2am. I think I’m back to normal again.

  12. CeePee Says:

    Some county fair, somewhere, this is going to be a super delicacie.

  13. shortzilla Says:

    omg serg this is sort of what i did when i tried to make “funnel cakes” for the first time (or so i thought). that stupid pancake batter just SOAKED up all the oil. i doused the shit with powdered sugar and then ate up. pressing that shit between my tongue and roof of my mouth squished out nothing but hot crisco. fuck. i’m getting flashbacks reading about this and it makes me want to poop and barf at the same time.

  14. Eric Says:

    You aren’t in St. Louis like Grocery, are you? I haven’t heard of any crepe street vendors here.

  15. MF Grocery Says:

    Serg is the man behind this one. We have contributors all over the place: St. Louis, Minneapolis, San Francisco, Kansas City, and throughout the northeast.

  16. sergdun Says:

    “You aren’t in St. Louis like Grocery, are you? I haven’t heard of any crepe street vendors here.”

    naw, I’m in San Francisco

  17. CVAL Says:

    Hell Yeah! Bossed the fuck up and Manned that shit, that’s what the fuck I’m talkin’ bout’

  18. jen Says:

    Next time, cook the pancakes normally in a pan, but once the batter is in that pan pour in a little extra oil and fry only the edges. It is truly delicious.

  19. Heart Attack Food #2 - Deep Fried Pancakes - JenTV.tv Says:

    […] the full article at Grocery Eats. There are photos of the whole deep friend pancake making process so you can make your very own […]

  20. mona Says:

    omg i love you

  21. Craig47 Says:

    Fore safety’s sake, DO NOT put water in the batter. Water and a deep fryer are a ticket to the hospital!

  22. Breakfast Time: Deep Fried Pancakes Says:

    […] (via Grocery Eats) […]

  23. RKB Says:

    You might try adding vegetables (corn or shedded potatoes) or fruit to the batter to make it less “heavy” or cook them at a higher heat for a shorter time so it won’t soak up as much grease.

  24. Jason Rivero Says:

    It’s easy to create your own healthy and downlike homemade Denny’s battercakes with this easy-to-follow Denny’s flapjack formula with healthy ingredients, such as Whole Meal Flour and Canola Oil, served with a dollop of cream cheese and gross maple syrup or dearest , or create your own healthy hotcake toppings.

  25. thuvienbaithi.com Says:

    Wow, incredible weblog format! How lengthy have you been running a blog for?
    you make running a blog glance easy. The entire
    look of your web site is fantastic, as smartly as the
    content!

Leave a Reply

