My Kegerator, Pt. 1

by

3-31-08.jpg 

This is why I haven’t been cooking shit.

Lately I’ve been working on my birthday present from Sarah.  She bought me this Magic Chef chest 7.2 CF chest freezer that I’m in the process of converting into a kegerator.   Sorry exotic and stupid food, beer will always win.

I took the lid of this hoe and built a wooden collar out of 2×10’s that sits perfectly on the lip of the cooler.  The collar gives the cooler additional height and provides worry-free drilling so I don’t hit a coolant line.  The extra height permits me to add two additional (5-gallon soda) kegs so I’ll have a total of 6 when it’s completed.

Over the past few nights I’ve been hooking up the CO2 lines and fittings and plan on getting my used kegs cleaned out tonight.  Hopefully I’ll be able to transfer the cider, Pilsner Urkel, Gnome root beer (it’s beer) and English Brown Ale into the kegs tomorrow night and get them carbonated.  I still need to add some insulating foam, seal all of the collar seams and holes with silicone, calculate/install the beer line lengths to get proper pressure, attach the lid and hook up the digital thermostat that will regulate the freezer to beer serving temperatures.

I’ve also been really contemplating buying a gang of St. Ides or Colt .45 40’s and transferring them to an empty keg and having them on tap since my research on brewing my own malt liquor seems like it would be a pain in the ass.  There are ways to transfer the beer without spoiling it, just need to do some more research and bid on a Billy D. Williams autographed 8×10 to hang above the kegerator.  

I’ll be back with more food shit soon.  My homie Daeng just sent me an amazing care package from Thailand that includes some suprisingly tasty durian chips and an assortment of other really cool looking stuff that I haven’t gotten into yet.

-G

6 Responses to “My Kegerator, Pt. 1”

  1. JT Says:

    You are my hero.

  2. MF Grocery Says:

    I forgot to give shouts out to PsyphinX and DBlue for letting me use essentially their plans and leftover shit to build my own. These dudes know the deal and I probably owe them more than a few beers.

  3. demosthenes.or.locke Says:

    Now that is fucking hot. I’ve never brewed my own beer before, but its definitely on the radar. Being in WV its hard to get away from shine.

  4. mattbrains Says:

    speechless

  5. El Jefe Says:

    I miss brewing beer… stupid grad school…

  6. b-dot Says:

    great post!

Leave a Reply

