Mission Street Food

by


Last thursday I finally made it out to Mission Street Food and it was fucking amazing. These dudes are fucking killing the game right now.

Mission Street Food is this dope project that Anthony Myint has been doing. It started with them renting one of the Antojitos San Miguel street carts every Thursday and slanging flatbread sandwiches topped with king trumpet mushroom, triple-fried potatoes, garlic confit, scallion sour cream or pork belly, jicama, pickled jalapeno and cilantro aioli. The food is super dope and hella cheap, it’s fucking brilliant and no bullshit pretentious shit to any of it. Just great food. The lines at the cart were getting long so they moved it indoors. Every Thursday they now take over Lung Shan on Mission and 18th.

Last week I found out that Ryan Farr was the guest chef this week and if you’ve seen dude’s blog you know the shit is not a game. I’d been telling myself to go but after seeing the menu I knew I had to man up. Fuck just look at this shit:

Menu:
Chicharrones and Spicy Dip 3.50
Honey Baked Ham and Pork Terrine, Sauerkraut, Mustard, Celery and Date Chutney 9
Buttermilk Fried Cauliflower, Roasted Carrot Aioli 5
Corned Lengua, Fried Farm Egg, Spiced Pork Belly Rice, Fennel Sprouts 12
Pork and Kumquat Sausage, Curry Brussels Sprouts, Persimmon, Herb Salad 12
King Trumpet Mushroom, Triple-Fried Potatoes, Garlic Confit, Scallion Sour Cream on Homemade Flatbread 6 (or add Benton’s bacon for an additional dollar)
Bacon and Apple Cinnamon Cookie, Vanilla Ice Cream Sandwich, Maple Sherry Carmel 7
Reconstructed Pecan Pie, Bourbon Cream, and Lines of Bacon “Snow” 7

DUDE! HOW CAN YOU NOT BE HUNGRY AFTER SEEING THAT LINE UP!

I was won over at the chicharrones but then I saw the corned lengua. I am a fan of tongue and fuck with it any time I get a chance, although that’s not always wise. Bad lengua is really fucking shitty, just imagine eating a bucket of dicks. Check Ryan’s blog about how to make it, I’m going to have to try this shit because that corned tongue was better than any I’ve ever had. Doesn’t hurt to have it served over pork belly fried rice either.

I met up with a few friends and we got a table for 6. The wait wasn’t too bad either, only like 15 minutes. Enough to cop some tall cans while we waited.  After getting seated we ordered a round of tecates and decided that the best look would be to just order two of everything on the menu. The chicharron was dope on it’s own but man that spicy sauce they served it with was so fucking good.

This was followed with the honey baked ham and pork terrine. I could post a photo of this but the lighting sucked and I got a bunch of shitty photos, as you can tell. Anyways the terrine with the mustard and saurkraut was so nice. The mustard with that little bit of sweetness from the ham made that shit crack.

This though was running the game. The tongue had the texture of a sausage patty, which if you fuck with tongue you know it’s usually hella tender and kind of stringy. That shit with the egg and pork belly fried rice was so awesome. Fuck put that shit on an english muffin and start slanging some real breakfast. Corned lengua is the fucking realest, fuck with it.

Fried Cauliflower. I’ve never been real big on cauliflower, as a kid I fucking hated it. I have enjoyed it since but it’s not something I really check for all that much (kind of like reggae). Anyways I was amazed by this and the aioli was so nice.

I don’t have a photo of king trumpet mushroom and triple-fried potatoes but that was the knock too. The flatbread was nice as flaky. The potatoes had a tasty crunch to them and with that scallion sour cream on top, man game over. Helps to order it with bacon, figure fuck it why not. Fuck out of everything on the menu only one item did not have pork in it.


oh man this one brought it all home. none of us really knew what to expect of “bacon snow” but thought it was funny so I asked for an extra gram. When we saw that it was served on a mirror well then everyone wanted to take photos of themselves snorting bacon. It got ridiculous, to the point that the waitress told us to just eat it already. Anyways Bacon Snow is the fucking truth, I will ride for that shit til the death. I know Brains was talking about bacon being the new all overprint but dude this shit brought me back. Bacon still has a long way to go. I don’t know how they make it but I think it’s powdered sugar infused with smoked bacon.

yeah this went hard too. I’m a fan of ice cream sandwiches so I really wanted to rock it. It was so fucking good.

The only thing on the menu that was kind of lacking was the Pork and Kumkuat sausage. Not that it wasn’t good, it was but it just wasn’t a facemelter like everything else.

If you’re in San Francisco you really need to fuck with these Mission Street Food, it gives the chefs an avenue to boss up and just flex on food. It sucks that with the guest chef situation you only have one shot to try but quality of the food makes it so worth it. Its one of those things that really makes me love living in this city. I don’t know what they have planned for the future but check their blog because you don’t want to miss out on some champ food.

fuck now I’m hungry.

11 Responses to “Mission Street Food”

  1. JT Says:

    “… everyone wanted to take photos of themselves snorting bacon. It got ridiculous…”

    That is some fucking funny ass shit. I really wanna know more bout this ‘bacon snow’ though. Super mysterious.

  2. mattbrains Says:

    I can’t believe they served it on a mirror.

  3. michele Says:

    This really is ridiculous. It doesn’t take long for hipsters and SM junkies to ruin a good thing.

  4. CeePee Says:

    By god this restaurant looks incredible, really feeling this new plate mostly because i know americans think our poutine-ish is crazy

    “MARIN vs. MONTREAL (Carlo)

    Poutine: Marin Sun Beef and Marrow Gravy, Cowgirl Creamery Cheese, Fried Kennebec. $7”

    No clue what Kennebec is, ima google that ish now.

  5. CeePee Says:

    turns out kennebecs are potatos.
    that better be cheese curds they are using

    Serg, cook up a plate of Poutine and lemme know what you think.
    Better yet ill see if i can send you and grocery some St Huberts Poutine sauce to make it relatively official.

  6. CCP Says:

    I went through this entire post wondering about the bacon snow, and when I saw the picture my interest was only sharpened. Any and all info on this beast is appreciated.

  7. michelle @ TNS Says:

    shit, i live nowhere near y’all and never gave a fuck about that…until right this second.

  8. kookimebux Says:

    Hello. And Bye. 🙂

  9. Barbar Says:

    Hi.
    Very good post.

  10. Goswick Says:

    great post! thanks…

  11. Anthony Myint Says:

    Hey, I like your post and I want to quote it in something I’m writing.
    Can you email me: missionstreetfood@gmail.com?

Leave a Reply

