Winter Pork Tenderloin

by

There’s something really comforting about hearty foods in the Winter. Last time I was at the farmer’s market I came across a really good deal on a whole pork loin from a regional farm. I decided to go all out and marinate the loin in Anchor Steam Christmas Ale that I had left over and some Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce. I divided the loin in two and placed everything in a zip lock bag and put it in the fridge for 24 hours. 

The farmer’s market I go to in Dupont Circle has a slew of great artisan cheese makers from regional farms in the PA, MD, and VA area. I found a vendor that had huge blocks of sharp cheddar cheese at about half the cost of what you would find in the supermarket. My grandfather used to make homemade macaroni and cheese, the recipe called for 1lb of shells to 2lbs of cheese, a stick of butter, butter milk and some sour cream. My grandfather died of a heart attack at 58. Not really looking to head down that path, I decided to go 1/1 on the mac and cheese. I bought a 1/2 pound of sharp cheddar and a 1/2 pound of Colby. Not so many people use Colby, which is a milder and softer yellow cheese – which adds to the creaminess of the recipe. 

Game time. 

I live in the city on the top floor of an apartment building. I don’t own a grill and if I did, I probably wouldn’t be using it in the Winter. I’ve found the next best way to cook meat without a grill is to pan sear it prior to putting it in the oven or broiler. This really locks in the flavors and thickens up the beer/bbq mixture. 

img00217

A lot of people think you need to cook the shit out of pork and that you can’t do it on the medium side – that’s just wrong. The last thing you want to end up with a dry piece of meat that pulls apart like leftover turkey. Pork needs to be cooked to 145 degrees and will do so quickly in an oven preheated to 325. I give it about 15 minutes per pound. 

img00218

It’s really convenient that the mac & cheese once assembled cooks at 325 until everything is melted and a little crisp on top. 

Peep the end product. I’ve never had a piece of pork so moist and tender. 

img002202

15 Responses to “Winter Pork Tenderloin”

  1. Topics about Food and Recipes » Winter Pork Tenderloin Says:

    […] Paramount Granite Blog put an intriguing blog post on Winter Pork TenderloinHere’s a quick excerptI decided to go all out and marinate the loin in Anchor Steam BChristmas/B Ale that I had left over and some Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce. […]

  2. CeePee Says:

    that mac and cheese looks fucking amazing.

  3. mattbrains Says:

    The hardest part about making it is shredding the cheese, which I should have taken a picture of.

    Once the shells are cooked, you just add them to a dish that you can bake and coat the bottom of it with a thin layer of milk. Mix all the shredded cheese around, add a dollop of sour cream, and a few pats of butter throughout. Throw it in the oven at 325 for 20 minutes and keep it uncovered so the top gets crispy.

  4. CeePee Says:

    Good call with the sourcream, dunno why i never thought about that.
    Ever think about using panko breadcrumbs to make it a bit more crispy on the top? Even garlic bread breadcrumbs would be a good look too

  5. CeePee Says:

    have you ever tried mac and cheese with a roux base?
    if so how has it worked for you?

  6. Thur31 Says:

    You guys really are breakin all the rules on this site. Will you guys BBQ some chicken next??

  7. mattbrains Says:

    Thur31 – I’ll bbq your face.

  8. Thur31 Says:

    This morning I made scrambled fucking eggs…with motherfucking cheese! I mean, who is a craizier mutha fuck than this mutha fuck that puts mutha fuckin cheese on fucking eggs????

    -serg dun

  9. mattbrains Says:

    make the mac and cheese and see.

  10. Thur31 Says:

    make your own shells and then talk to me

  11. SergDun Says:

    and you read this blog because????

  12. Ransauce Says:

    Hahah… a good point by SergDun, although I must admit Thur, the egg/cheese thing was fucking hilarious 😀

  13. foodstalker Says:

    If you have a kitchen aid mixer you can get a food grinder attachment that will make quick work of shredding cheese, and it melts like crazy…

  14. slimline dishwasher Says:

    An individual appliance that you would like within your kitchen to help keep it clean and neat is a dishwasher. No matter whether you have a huge or a small kitchen area, you’ll choose to have an additional appliance that would even now hold your kitchen in purchase. A dishwasher that could do this task is a slimline dishwasher. This dishwasher is incredibly functional, and it can be constructed narrower so that it can easily match into small spaces

  15. Stevie Atterberry Says:

    elegant advice and sharing,I will buy one great apple for me .thanks,Joe

Leave a Reply

