Buoyant Mammal Monger

by

I  knocked on wood prior to writing this.

A few weeks back I was fortunate enough to meet some native Alaskans living here in DC. After a full ‘Sunday Funday’ of watching basketball, drinking scotch, smoking cigars and talking about what I would do to Gov. Palin, I was fortunate enough to be invited to eat whale meat. Keep in mind, this was after several questions about what polar bears and seals taste like. Despite coming off as the most culturally insensitive prick out there, I really was hyped to learn more about the Alaskan way of life – especially the parts that involve eating sea mammals. 

A date has just been set.

Due to the illegal nature of moving said meat from Alaska, I am excited for this opportunity. I didn’t want this post to be preemptive, but I’m really hyped about this shit… even though, I hear that it’s  a traditional fare and ‘too fishy’ for the younger native population. It has become abundantly clear, this shit was utilized at one point for sustenance and plays no real role in the Alaskan diet today. I’m really excited to try it in the traditional ways – raw and/or poached. 

My gears are turning overtime about the possibilities with this one… I’ll keep you posted.

6 Responses to “Buoyant Mammal Monger”

  1. geoff Says:

    Man, if you ever make it to Japan let me know. We have whale all over the place, along with lots of other real interesting foods.

  2. Gav Says:

    Longtime listener, first time caller!

    Eh, I ate some whale meat in Iceland once. It was a bit like fillet steak crossed with fish. Really dark and meaty, but with a mad fishy flavour. We had kebabs. Not a fan personally, but it could be good I reckon.

  3. young cutty Says:

    I am giddy with anticipation with what beast you are about to unleash with this type of meat.

  4. MF Grocery Says:

    Please make a pizza with it.

  5. Richardy Says:

    Whale sliders

  6. colibri cigar lighter Says:

    Howdy, I was browsing the internet and I came across your web site. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

