Pig Butchering Class

by

The other week I got hit up by my friend Lydia to fuck with this pig butchering class Ryan Farr was putting on. There was a problem though, I was on call for work and didn’t want to throw down on this shit if I had to worry about getting paged and having to bounce after 5 minutes. Lydia ended up rolling to that shit on her own and then sent me photos, it looks like a champ ass class. I’m regretting not manning that shit and going. After I got her email I asked her if I could post it up on GroceryEats, she said yes and now you have an email from Lydia on the internets.



I took the whole pig butchering class from Ryan Farr on Sunday. Holy fucking shit was it amazing. Best $75 bucks I’ve spent in a long time. Ryan Farr gave a demo breaking down the entire pig by hand with a little ass knife proving it ain’t the size of the knife but how you wield that fucker. He broke it into big ass primals and then gave everyone their own chunk of the beast. I was given the pork shoulder with the entire front leg attached. I got to break out the picnic part of the shoulder and then separate the butt of the shoulder from the shank. Then the moment, I paid $75  for came. I got to saw the through the fucking shank and separate the foot with a hacksaw. At the exact same time, dude next to me was going full sav removing the face from the pig’s head. Fucking gnarly but awesome. There were only about 12 of us so we all got a chance to attack large chunks and do some finer trimming and portioning. I took home about 10# of meat. I’ve got that foot and shank in a cure right now and I’ll be brining my pork belly for bacon tomorrow.

The homie Unagi just bought a gangster ass smoker so I’m gonna hook up with dude and get my smoke on once the cure and brine comes off these pig parts in about 5 days.

Farr is super fucking cool and is going to be doing more classes this summer. So if you want to boss the fuck up and learn how to make salami, sausages or butcher a whole lamb in the coming months holler at a player. I’m officially up on game. I’m committed to Rick Ross Magnificent this shit.

If you aren’t a pussy here’s a gallery – http://gallery.me.com/lpopovich/100026

6 Responses to “Pig Butchering Class”

  1. Certified Max Says:

    Wow, weird coincidence, I was just emailing with my friend Matt, who’s a chef, about coming over to his place to learn how to break down a whole pig in the next couple months. I gotta get the basics, because my girl is going to raise a pig this summer, and then we’ll butcher it in the fall!

  2. Post Pig Butchering Class « Road To… Says:

    […] make sure you check out all of Lydia’s pictures.  Thank you Lydia for the great review and Grocery eats for all the killer posts!  Stay tuned… a plethora of classes soon to come, sausage, goat, […]

  3. Road To... · Post Pig Butchering Class Says:

    […] La Cocina for such a awesome venue, Lydia for the great review, Isabel Pazos of El Buen Comer and Grocery eats for all the killer posts!  Stay tuned… a plethora of classes soon to come, sausage, goat, […]

  4. Marty Says:

    Hey,
    I really dig the photos your friend Lydia took of the pig butchering class.
    Is there any way to reach her? I have a blog (nothing serious, mostly just my friends read it) and I wanted to write a short blurb on the whole Swine Flu Epidemic. The pic would be a very cool visual. Do you think Lydia would allow me to post it? I would definitely credit her name and even add a link to any of her other photos.

    You can reach me at: mejduprey@yahoo.com

    Cheers!
    M.

  5. CeePee Says:

    Butchering is an art, sadly one that is not followed throughout the world and you often learn that the hard way, its sad to see a good piece of meat get mistreated. Im still considering butchering as a back up plan, think about it all the meat you can eat and relatively good money.

  6. Road To… · Post Pig Butchering Class Says:

    […] La Cocina for such a awesome venue, Lydia for the great review, Isabel Pazos of El Buen Comer and Grocery Eats for all the killer posts! Here is a link to another great post from Nermo, […]

Leave a Reply

