Pig Out

by

Sunday I spent the afternoon watching this pig lose a battle to man with a knife. Ryan Farr and the folks over at Coffee bar set up this cutesy dinner where for 35 bucks you could watch him work the pig and eat it. I think you got some drinks or some shit too but I don’t fuck with old shitty grape juice. I hollered at some Big Daddy IPAs and watched him do his thing. At some point I told them to save me the eye just because that’s what my grandfather always yelled out when there was fish around. When the head came back from the grill they offered it up, it wasn’t too crazy. I was expecting it to be juicy and salty but it felt like really tender cartilage and flavor wise it was kind of lacking.  It wasn’t bad or anything, but the texture was more interesting than the flavor. When Ryan was breaking down the leg he offered up some bits of the skin, super crispy and that was the best thing I’d eaten that day.

The food was served up like a buffet, with a variety of cuts, some salad, cheese, and rolls. I think there was a potato salad in there too but I didn’t fuck with it. I got some pieces of leg, cheek, tenderloin wrapped in pork belly and a bunch of other cuts that I’m not sure what they were. It was dope though because a good opportunity to experience all the different things pigs can do. Fuck some swine flu made for TV bullshit, pork is amazing. The only thing that was kind of lacking was just the set up of the whole thing. It was hard to hear Ryan just because the place has these high ceilings, there was a dj playing down tempo stuff (he dropped some liquid swords on the random though). The acoustics of the spot though aren’t that big of a deal, just get a Sham Wow headset and you’re good. It was totally worth it and I definitely want to take a butchering class now.

DSC_77692631

IMG_0556

tenderloin wrapped in pork belly

DSC_77712633

IMG_0559

IMG_0558

DSC_77732635

home made corndogs, these were the knock

IMG_0565

long ass chicharron, these were super tasty. Even more flavorful that the packaged ones he makes too.

DSC_77792641

DSC_77822643

fuck now I want to bbq

5 Responses to “Pig Out”

  1. MF Grocery Says:

    This is dope. I wish chefs did shit like this in STL or at least told me about it. What happened to the eyeballs?

  2. SergDun Says:

    I ate both of them, at first some dude was talking about eating them for 50 bucks. I said fuck that, I’ll eat’em for nothing. They hooked up when the head came back from the grill. I should have gotten some photos of the eyes but I just popped those things in my mouth and ate them.

  3. kyle Says:

    still kicking myself for missing this

  4. Helldog Says:

    Dude, eating fucking eyes is disgusting. Having said that, I like every other pig part I’ve had so maybe they would be awesome.

    Naw, F that. I’m not even going to pretend I could hold that cooked vitreous humor down.

  5. Bobby Says:

    Holy shit guy, that looks ridic

Leave a Reply

