Made some sausage

by

Frisco Pig

Last saturday I woke up hungover, jumped on my bike and went to  a sausage class put on by Ryan Farr. I bought that poster after the class where I saw these things:







Took home a few days worth of Chicken Beer Sausage, Chili & Fennel Pork Sausage and a Roasted Garlic & Spring Onion Beef Sausage. I am now in need of a sausage stuffer at home.

This video has nothing to do with any of this but it’s easily my favorite posse cut of all time so fuck it, I’ve got it on repeat and you should too.

10 Responses to “Made some sausage”

  1. Hugo Says:

    That last sasuage pic looks awesome.
    So the big machine thingy is the sausage stuffer obviously, is it really necessary?

  2. Hugo Says:

    Necessary, as did they teach you any way to do it at home, with a big mixer of something..

  3. SergDun Says:

    the big machine is a Hobart mixer, we used it to mix and grind the meat also. For stuffing the sausage we used a 5lb sausage stuffer, basically a cylinder with a crank to press the lid down and the meat out of a hole at the bottom. looked similar to this http://www.sausagemaker.com/ProductImages/50510.jpg

    For a portion of the class the we used a Kitchenaid mixer with the grinding/stuffer attachment, it sucks for large quantities though. I wish someone would make an aftermarket version that was better than the janky plastic bits kitchenaid slapped together. I’m still going to try it with my Kitchenaid though.

  4. Hugo Says:

    Alright I’d guess it prolly will take a few times of trying and learning before I would get any proper looking sausages out of it.

    I’m trying to figure out if I could maybe use my grandpas propeller boat engine and jank it into a bucket to shred and mix the meat.. Or some shit like that. Fuck it would never work.

    Pics looks really cool anyhow.

  5. Rob Says:

    Yeah! You have to cook sausages till they rip open!

  6. Mags Says:

    I went to the same class today, except we made a beef chorizo instead of the roasted garlic/spring onion beef sausage you guys made. Good times!

  7. MF Grocery Says:

    I just hollered at my local butcher shop and they hooked me up with casings, 8 lbs of pork shoulder and some extra fat. Tomorrow I’m picking up the kitchen aid sausage stuffer attachment and will try that shit out.

  8. Richardy Says:

    man I’m really diggin that poster for some reason.

  9. Bobby Says:

    Looks legit, i gotta find a spot like this in Toronto

  10. BBG Says:

    That was exactly what I was looking for. You have done a terrific job communicating your message. Keep up the good writing.

Leave a Reply

