Cereal Beer Challenge

by

So this month my homebrew club decided to kickoff a Iron Chef style bracket competition to see who could feature non-traditional brewing ingredients in a beer.  Of course the ingredients were a secret and we have to produce the beer at the next club meeting in November.  I was all over this shit.

crushedgrains

My challenge: generic Fruity Pebbles

If you google fruity pebbles and beer, the result is like 20k hits on Leinenkugel’s Sunset Wheat beer.  Well that was fucking easy… now off to brewing.  I decided to make a heavily hopped amarillo wheat beer similar to Three Floyd’s Gumball Head.  Well, minus the cereal.

I’ll spare you with the details of the process, just know that an entire 25.5 oz bag of Fruity Dyno Bites went into the mash.  It was a small 5 gallon batch: 5 lbs of American 2-row barley, 4.5 lbs of American wheat malt, and a decent amount of citrusy amarillo hops.  Very basic recipe, here are some more pics:

Mash:mash

Sparge and awesome shot of all the shit in my garage:sparge2

Bittering hop addition:hopbag

Setting the mood:lienenkugels

Flavor/aroma hop addition:hops

Yeast having sex:carboy

I’ll post the results after this shit ferments, gets dry-hopped with more amarillo and I get it carbonated.  If it ends up tasting/smelling like it did going into this this fucker then all the ladies in the bi-state area are going to have wet panties.

17 Responses to “Cereal Beer Challenge”

  1. SergDun Says:

    I would like to consume this beer

  2. Hugo Says:

    This beer needs to be amazing, if there’s any good in this world it will be.

  3. JT Says:

    Well, you know I’m down to taste test if there is any leftover. 😉

  4. mattbrains Says:

    Grocery is in a home brewing club. Ladies and Gents, please give him a round of applause.

  5. Hungry Huy Says:

    mm Fruity Pebbles. Props! Home brewing is legit. I wanna see /taste the results :).

  6. Red Icculus Says:

    Your post on the Old English recipe is what made me love your blog. A cereal challenge sounds great. How about a malt liquor using corn flakes?

  7. Amy Says:

    I…..am intrigued and grossed out at the same time. Hee….

  8. Sandy Says:

    um – yeah – call me when that’s ready please…k?

  9. MF Grocery Says:

    I think this shit is done fermenting and will be pulling a taste tonight.

  10. MF Grocery Says:

    This shit is not that great, but it’s not a drain pour either. Whoever wants some is welcome to come through the crib and fill up growlers of this bastard. I want it gone asap.

  11. Iron Brewer Competition « Grocery Eats Says:

    […] got together for our monthly meeting and we judged the 16 Iron Brewer entries for round 1.  My Fruity Pebbles beer somehow won and I’m moving to the 2nd round.  I suppose it paid off for getting the […]

  12. Matt Says:

    I did a Grape Nuts Triple last year which came out at 9.42%abv and it was awesome. Very aromatic and cereally, if I can say that…Tomorrow I’m rocking out a Golden Crisp IPA with two boxes of the damn stuff in it, some 10L crystal and carafoam…hopping it up with Cent., Cascade, and chinook. Shooting for 1.080 OG.

  13. Anyone tried using breakfast cereal in the mash? - Home Brew Forums Says:

    […] This local cat did it and was not impressed with the results. Take a look: http://groceryeats.com/2009/10/26/cereal-beer-challenge/ […]

Leave a Reply

